Broccoli quiche with Kinda Bacon

I had some broccoli and medium-firm tofu in the fridge, so I decided to make a vegan quiche. I fried up some chopped onion, garlic and celery, then added the sliced broccoli and cooked until the broccoli was soft. I also blind-baked the pastry (I overdid it in fact, as you can see by the overcooked crust at the top). Then I whizzed up the medium-firm tofu, some soy milk, Dijon mustard, nutritional yeast, and some seasonings (turmeric for colour, cumin, pepper and oregano) in the food processor until very smooth.

To create the quiche (once the broccoli mixture has cooled down) I spread out half of the broccoli mixture on the pastry base, then brought out my secret ingredient: a packet of Kinda Bacon, made from coconut flakes. I took a handful and scrunched it up, sprinkling the bits over the broccoli. Then another layer of broccoli and some more Kinda Bacon bits. Finally, I poured the tofu mixture over the top, hoping that it would soak through to create a nice quiche. I put the quiche in a moderate oven for about 45 minutes (plus or minus 5 minutes, I can’t remember exactly how long). It’s good to leave it for at least 5 minutes to set, after it comes out of the oven, before eating it.

I was very happy with the finished product (apart from the slightly overbrowned crust). My five year old son said “Give me some more of THAT!” (which I did, after he had rephrased his request more politely). Mushrooms would have been nice in it, fried up in the broccoli mixture. The Kinda Bacon added a nice note and wasn’t overpowering or intrusive. I’ll be making this again.