Tortilla stack

When the soft drink in the background contains feijoa, it’s a good bet you’re in New Zealand. I spent a week in Wellington, NZ for a conference, and stuck around for the weekend. I had my reasons. One of them was to follow my sister Leigh (who joined me for the weekend) to her favourite Wellington cafe, Midnight Espresso, 178 Cuba St.

The above photo shows the tortilla stack that I sampled one day for lunch. With layers of beans, mushrooms, tomato and pumpkin, this stack was tasty and fun to eat (the salsa was yummy too).

Vegan stack

We also breakfasted at Midnight Espresso (actually on the day before: this post is in reverse chronological order) where I tried the vegan stack (clearly they’re big on stacks). Enormous mushroom, grilled tomato, spinach and a hash brown, with the yummy salsa and the house vegan mayo.

Midnight Espresso

Midnight Espresso is an institution: it’s been open for more than 25 years. It’s an omni cafe but with plenty of vegetarian and vegan options. The whole place has attitude: the music, the furniture, the staff and the food. When in Wellington, you should definitely drop in.