Falafel Masters Falafel roll

I recently went to Eindhoven for work, after a lovely weekend catching up with some friends in Amsterdam. I had mixed experiences as a vegan in Eindhoven: I felt like I was the first person to ever ask for soy milk to be provided for my hotel breakfast, and though I’d given three weeks’ notice of my dietary requirements to the workshop organisers, the caterers appeared unable to provide vegan food for me. However, this turned out to be a very good thing, because it forced me out onto the streets of Eindhoven where (with the help of Happy Cow) I found **the most delicious falafel I have ever had in my life**.

The place where you must go to eat this delicious falafel is Falafel Masters, 131 Edisonstraat. It was a 25 minute walk from the location of my workshop, but it was so, so worth it. I’m going to struggle to describe how delicious it was. The falafel was just the right texture, just the right amount of softness and moistness inside (while still crunchy on the outside), and lots of flavour. The salad was all really fresh. I thought the green olives were a great inclusion. The pita was toasted and very tasty (this is the wholemeal one). Somehow when they put it all together, magic is created. I think that this is food created with a lot of love.

Falafel Masters, fresh ingredients

I took the above photo to remind me of the salad ingredients, but I’m sure I won’t be able to replicate the flavour. I believe that they make the falafel and all the sauces in-house.

Falafel Masters decor

Though this is not a fancy restaurant, there are lots of little touches that I liked, such as the lampshades and the mirrors… also the plates.

Falafel Masters, empty plate

Ah, the empty plate, sign of a very happy customer.

Cigkoftem Dürüm

Just briefly, another discovery one Eindhoven lunchtime was Cigkoftem: I noticed the word “vegan” on their storefront as I was looking for somewhere to eat. It turns out that this is a chain throughout Europe, offering a vegan version of a traditional Turkish dish: instead of a meat paste they use grains, walnuts and seasoning to make their paste, which comes in mild or spicy. I had the Dürüm roll, made from a flat bread with the paste spread onto it, then lettuce, tomato, cucumber, spring onion and mint, with some spicy sauce. It was quite spicy, but very tasty and filling. The mint added a lovely freshness.