Kerryann's chilli con veggie

For years, chilli was my husband’s signature dish. I guess he missed not making it for me since I became vegan, because last week he did some googling and found a recipe called Kerryann’s chilli con veggie (on Jamie Oliver’s website). Then he cooked it for me and it was delicious. Just as well, because it makes a huge amount so we ate it for 3 nights and we all enjoyed it.

This recipe has kidney beans, black beans, lentils and the surprise inclusion, leeks. We all enjoyed it. Mine is pictured here with My Life Biocheese grated on it. This is a “fasting cheese” from Greece which is vegan, looks like a softish cheddar, grates and melts well… and I like it. I do detect a mild coconutty after-taste, but that’s fine. I was very excited to see it in my local supermarket earlier this year, and will definitely buy it again.

Next time we have chilli I might try making vegan sour cream using this recipe from Oh She Glows.