homemade wholemeal buns

So I was working at home last Monday and realised with shock that there was no bread in the house. I’m a bit of a bread addict, so this was a serious shock. Luckily, I’d bought some spelt flour on the weekend because I wanted to try some recipes from Whole Grain Vegan Baking by Celine Steen and Tamasin Noyes (which I had recently been given). I decided to make Whole Grain Burger Buns (recipe available online at vedgedout.com, with authors’ permission).

The recipe worked really well and was easy (leaving me lots of time to do heaps of work while the dough was rising, of course… just in case anyone from work is reading). I was really pleased with how these buns turned out. I should say that I used was unbleached white spelt flour, because that’s all they had at the shop where I (finally) found spelt flour. Other than that, I stuck with the recipe, including using wholemeal plain flour.

vegan BLAT on homemade bun

The buns were soft and had a great texture. For my lunch I had a vegan BLAT: tempeh bacon (from The Sexy Vegan cookbook, recipe available online here), lettuce, avocado and tomato. For an extra zing I used some soft macadamia cheese as a spread on the bottom of the bun. Deeeee-lishush.