Hint of Mint Cheesecake

When there’s a cheesecake recipe in a cookbook called Greenilicious, which is all about eating more greens, you know it’s going to be slightly unusual. In Leigh Drew’s Hint of Mint Cheesecake, the green colour comes not just from the fresh mint but also from baby spinach. Yep, spinach! It’s a bit like a green smoothie in cheesecake form.

When I made mine, I didn’t have any baby spinach to hand so I used english spinach, which I thought worked fine. The chocolately base gave a good counterpoint (!) to the sweet minty filling. Overall I found this a pleasing dessert, and fun to make. (As with many foods, it’s a good idea to leave it out of the fridge a little before eating, to give yourself a chance to appreciate the flavours.) This cheesecake is gluten-free: it was the first time I ever cooked with quinoa flakes.

As a piece of trivia, this recipe was featured in the December 2014 issue of Women’s Health Magazine in Australia. If you peer at this photo from that magazine you can see much of the recipe there. (It’s a Facebook link, but you don’t have to log into FB to see it.) I usually avoid looking at magazines of any kind, but as Leigh wrote on the Greenilicious FB site at the time, “It’s always great to see vegan recipes in mainstream publications”.