Tibetan momos at Eumundi markets

Last week I had a lovely holiday at Maroochydore on the Sunshine Coast, north of Brisbane. I can’t say it’s a vegan hotspot, but I certainly didn’t starve. I had a very nice lunch at Raw Energy, which is an omni place but includes some vegan options. You can always count on some vegan options at the local Thai or Indian restaurants. But my best holiday food experience came from a visit to the Eumundi market, up in the hinterland behind the coast.

The Eumundi market has been going since 1979 and is now absolutely huge. Happily for me, I was there with some friends who made sure to visit the Tibetan momos stall. Tibetan momos are dumplings which you can buy steamed or fried. The filling is made from cabbage, carrot and tofu, and the momos are served with sweet chilli sauce, soy sauce and slices of cucumber. It all comes together in a glorious symphony of gorgeousness. I love Tibetan momos.