Tempeh tickle and polenta

Sometimes on a Friday night the rest of my family order some non-vegan home delivery food, and I cook something easy and satisfying for myself. A favourite for these Friday nights is Dreena Burton’s Tempeh Tickle recipe, from Let Them Eat Vegan.  The marinade is pretty easy to make while the tempeh is steaming, then the warm tempeh in the marinade for half an hour. A quick bake in the oven and they’re ready to eat.

The tempeh slices are also great in sandwiches, or crumbled into a tomato-based pasta sauce. I do try other tempeh recipes from time to time, but I keep coming back to this one.

Here, I also made some polenta and a salad. I was trying to recreate a salad a Greek friend made for me once, years and years ago: from memory, it was rocket and continental parsley and lemon juice, maybe some seasoning, and it was delicious. I don’t think I quite got the rocket-to-parsley ratio right in my attempt, but it was still very tasty and full of goodness. I threw in some chopped-up cherry tomatoes, for colour.