orange and chocolate cake

Here I am in the UK for Christmas and New Year (hence the gap between posts). We gave my mother-in-law and my sister-in-law Isa Does It for Christmas, which has meant lots of yummy food for me! We’ve just got back from visiting my brother-in-law’s family in Bath, and my sister-in-law Sara made a few sweet treats from Isa Does it: the Orange-Chocolate Chip Bundt Cake, shown above, and the Pineapple Upside-down Cake.

Sara made the bundt cake extra-special by covering it with “gooey ganache”, from another recipe in Isa Does It. The cake tasted great, even a couple of days after it was baked.

Pineapple upside-down cake

This photo of the upside-down cake is taken the next day, and as you can see, the blackberries in the centre of each pineapple slice had done a bit of colouring-in by then. (The recipe calls for cherries or raspberries but we had blackberries and used those). This cake was really yummy, and fun to see the pineapple revealed after the cake is turned out. My nephew William made coconut vanilla ice-cream (not pictured) for me to eat with this cake. Delish.