ChaYaEggplant

I’m back in Berkeley, so of course I headed back to Cha-Ya vegan Japanese restaurant. Look how pretty this food is! I had the Tonchi Nasu, which is eggplant stuffed with yummy stuff (potato, sweetcorn, soybeans and other veg) then dipped in tempura batter and fried. It’s sitting on a sweet sticky ginger sauce. I enjoyed every mouthful.

ChaYaMushroom

One of my dining companions had another stuffed vegetable dish.. again, look at that presentation! This is Hangetsu, which is portobello mushroom layered with tofu, dipped in tempura batter and fried, served with a kiwifruit sauce. You certainly don’t leave hungry after visiting Cha-Ya.

I still haven’t tried their famous Cha-Ya sushi roll (which is, yes you guessed it, dipped in tempura batter and fried!).  The people at the table next to me were eating some… it looked great. Maybe a third trip to Cha-Ya?  (Detailed menu here.)