IMG_1470

I take my hat off to you, Dreena Burton. This chocolate cake from Plant-Powered Families is absolutely lush. Even better, the recipe is available online. The name of the recipe gives away the secret ingredient: sweet potato! The cake has no oil, but is rich and moist and delicious. There’s even sweet potato in the icing!

IMG_1460

I cooked the sweet potato as Dreena suggests at the start of the book: by baking it whole, skin-on. You just scrub the sweet potato, put it on a tray and stick it in the oven for 40 – 60 minutes. Don’t pierce the skin at the start: those fork marks you can see are from me testing whether the sweet potato was cooked. The skin becomes loose and can be easily peeled away from the cooked sweet potato, which was slightly caramelised.

Just give this recipe a try, I predict that you will love it. My kids and I ate the left-over icing with a spoon, it’s almost a chocolate mousse. Gorgeous.