IMG_1473

Ah, Melbourne. I love visiting Melbourne, where I lived for three happy years, quite a long time ago now. I love walking around the streets of Carlton, Fitzroy, Collingwood… and I really love going to new vegan food places. I’d heard so many good things about Smith & Deli, on Moor St, not far from Brunswick St in Fitzroy… I knew I had to try it. By chance I got there just before 11:30am, which is when their extensive sandwich options become available: more than 30 sandwiches to choose from! You can see the two blackboards full of sandwich choices in the photo above. Everything in the whole place is vegan. Bliss.

IMG_1476

I chose the Temple of Doom: (vegan) turkey, jalapenos, roasted corn, pickled cabbage, (vegan) cheese and chipotle aioli. So good! So delicious! I savoured every moment of eating this sandwich, sitting on a bench in a nearby park among the autumn leaves.

IMG_1475

You can buy lots of other treats at Smith & Deli, including croissants!  I chose a chocolate croissant and enjoyed it immensely. It was my first croissant since I became vegan more than 3 years ago, in fact. Now I just have to figure out when and how I can get back to Melbourne to work my way through more sandwich options…. or possibly to book a table at Smith & Daughters. One day…