img_1798

The other day I went to a new hairdresser, just around the corner, for a cut and colour. While I was waiting for my colour to “cook”, I was offered a very yummy Greek biscuit, homemade by the mother of the owner (who was also cutting hair there). I asked whether it contained any dairy and she assured me no, it’s just orange juice and olive oil.

The biscotti were delicious, so I decided to make my own. A bit of googling I found this recipe from cookmegreek.blogspot.com.au. Sure enough, it’s mainly orange juice, olive oil and flour. You make the dough, bake it for a while until it looks like this… (below).

img_1798

Then you cut it up and bake it again for a while until the slices are golden brown. My loaf was a little crumbly when I cut it, and the biscotti were crumbly, but they were very tasty. I used wholemeal flour, as I usually do: I don’t know if that affected the crumbliness. I also used the half-and-half option in the recipe (half olive oil and half vegetable oil, rather than all olive oil).  These were fun to make and we all enjoyed eating them.