Rubyfruit Southern Fried Chickn Burger

I have had a cold/flu for the last week, so I haven’t done much in the way of exciting cooking. But I’ve got some lovely photos from back in July, when we spent a few days in the Blue Mountains and finally, *finally* visited Rubyfruit in Leura.  I’ve been wanting to go there for so long!  (Last time we tried, they were full and we couldn’t wait, for some reason which must have seemed important at the time.)  It’s always a great feeling to visit an all-vegan cafe or restaurant, knowing that I can order anything on the menu without the need to ask lots of questions.

Since it was lunchtime, we had lunch there. I had the Southern Fried Chickn Burger with sriracha mayonaise.

Rubyfruit Southern Fried Chickn Burger bite

This tasted fantastic. Look at the great texture on their chickn seitan. I really enjoyed my side salad too: grated beetroot, grated carrots and some pumpkin seeds.

Rubyfruit Mexican Burger Chipotle Mayo

My partner had the Mexican Burger with chipotle mayonaise, and a coleslaw side salad, and enjoyed both. The coffee was good too.

Next time I’m in the vicinity, I will strive to go to Rubyfruit around afternoon tea time so I can try one (or more!) of their famous sweet treats.