IMG_2766

This is a soya meat curry.  The little balls are made of soy beans (somehow) and have been dehydrated and packaged (see photo below).

IMG_2758

I have to thank my friend Dilini, who first gave me some soy meat curry that she had cooked (which tasted *amazing*!!), and then gave me this packet so I could cook some for myself. Of course hers tasted much better and more authentic than mine! I asked Dilini where I would find this packet and she said “Sri Lankan shops”.

IMG_2759

This is what the soy beans look like out of the packet. You soak them in hot water, then drain them and squeeze the water out.  Then, follow the instructions on the packet (a spice sachet is included) or find a recipe online, like this one.  I added zucchini (courgette) for a bit of green.  We all loved the soy meat balls, they’re really yummy. I’d definitely like to experiment with them again, and encourage you to do the same.