20170616_130225

I was in Toronto recently for a week, for a conference. (I already told you about the delicious cactus tacos that I ate while there.) Luckily, my flight home was late at night, and a friend from the conference was in the same situation, so we walked around Toronto for a day. Our wanderings were not entirely aimless because I knew exactly where I wanted to end up for lunch: Hogtown Vegan, 1056 Bloor St W. Please note the special advertised on the board: pulled ‘pork’ poutine.

20170616_133323

This is a (blurry) photo of the pulled pork poutine special. Poutine is a Canadian thing, chips with gravy and sauce, something like that.  It was so, so good. Their lunch menu was full of delicious-sounding items: I really wished I could stay another week just to sample 7 more meals!  I am actually salivating now as I remember how good this messy stuff tasted.

20170616_092728

On the subject of vegan food in Toronto, I’d also like to mention Rise Espresso, 107 Mutual St.  If you are looking for good coffee near Ryerson University then I suggest you make your way there.

20170616_092715

Here is their display counter of baked goods, almost all from Sweets From the Earth and labelled as vegan. I liked the look of the unlabelled bread-like item at the top left, so I asked what it was, and was told it was banana bread with chocolate chips.  “Is it vegan?”, I asked.  “Everything in there is vegan!”, the lovely barista replied. Hooray! The banana bread with chocolate chips was delicious, and their coffee was great.